UKWA Wave Final: West Wittering 1-2 Nov

28 October 2008

Leaders Board

Please find below the UKWA wave rankings going into the West Wittering event. Here's looking forward to a nail biting finish to the UKWA Wave Tour. One thing is for sure - it's going to be cold in those north-east winds on Saturday so bring or buy a neoprene hat!! The wind is forecast to be windy over lunchtime so we want to get on with the competition. Please be on time for registration and rigged up and ready for competition at 10:00.

Due to the forecast REGISTRATION WILL OPEN FROM 8AM on the Saturday down at the Club on the beach.

If we can get everyone registered by 0900 and ready to start heats at 10:00 (that means rigged/wetsuits on), this would help us take advantage of the best wind of the weekend.

Telephone number of the Beach Club: 01243 513077

See you all bright & early!

Most Improved Wave Sailor 2008: This award is voted for by the wave fleet. Every sailor who has entered at least one event this season is eligible to vote. They can vote for ONE sailor only who must also have competed this year. That sailor can be from any fleet. You can't vote for yourself. Louise Emery will be collecting votes over the weekend. For those who can't make it to West Wittering, please email Louise your choice ( The winner will be announced on Sunday 2nd November and receive an original Dave Gayda painting of Brandon Bay. They will also be awarded the trophy at the UKWA End of Season Ball in Weymouth on 15th November.

Top10 Pro (points in brackets)

1. Rich Potter (12.5)
2. John Hibbard (13.5)
3. Rich Jones (18.5)
4. Steve Thorp (22)
5. Steve Jarvis (23.5)
6. Mark Bell (28)
7= John Skye (31.7)
7= Andy King (31.7)
9. Phil Horrocks (33)
10. Ben Proffitt (34)


1=Sam Darkin
1=Scott McDowell
2= Chris Cartin
2= Chris Cunningham
4. Ian Gibson
5. Stefan Hilder
6. Michael Archer
7. David Bichan
8. Dab Gallo
9. Roger Marsh


1. Nigel Treacy
2. Gerry Wilcock
3. Dave Edmington
4. Chris Wilcock
5. Keith Shorrocks
6=Ian McKenzie
6= Simon Brook
8. Damian DeBacker


1. Louise Emery
2=Katie McAnea
2=Sarah Bibby
4. Sarah Finney

1st Youth: Sam Darkin

1st Junior: Tom Knox
2nd Junior: Aleksy Gayda