Speedweek winners

27 October 2011

Kev Greenslade and Zara Davis win UKWA speed championships two years in succession.

Kevin and ZaraUKWA National Speed championships sponsored by Spartan wetsuits took place at Weymouth Speed week last week and delivered the goods in terms of wind. Racing took place over seven days with Monday and Tuesday being the best. 

We had 34 UKWA entrants this year for the Spartan Wetsuits UKWA Speed Trophy including the cream of the UK sailors making an appearance and racing was close. Kevin Greenslade took the top spot for a second year on the trot ahead of speed specialist from Guernsey Martin Ogier in 2nd place and Ant Baker hoping for a Speed and Slalom double had to settle for third. Zara Davis won for the ladies for a record 4th time  and came a creditable 10th in the overall UKWA rankings. 

Picture courtesty of Dave White.

Ranking for UKWA speed 2011

1 Kevin Greenslade
2 Martyn Ogier
3 Antony Baker
4 Bob Cunningham
4 Ian Richards
6 Nigel Spriggs
7 Michael George
8 Matthew York
8 Daniel Skudder
10 Zara Davis
11 Allan Cross
11 Jamie Walker
13 Adrian Wallis
14 Paul Morris
15 Richard Hobson
16 Tony Attfield
17 Dave Strudwick
18 Dave White
19 Guy Cribb
19 John Mcintyre
19 Gavin Nicholson
19 Nicholas Dodd
23 Jim Crossley
24 Simon Pettifer
25 Nick Beaney
26 Stephen Chatten
27 Mark Collins
28 Neil Greentree
29 Martin Allman
30 Mark Hatton
31 Trevor Funnell
32 Eddie Murrell
33 Gordon Roach
34 Charlie Wilson