Windsurfer of the Year 2015

4 January 2016

The voting was close between the nominees from all aspects of UK windsurfing competition (Slalom, Wave, Speed, Freestyle and Racing). As usual, the line up was strong with Ross Williams, Robbie Swift, Kevin Greenslade, Adam Simms and Louis Morris all in with a chance.

But the clear winner for 2015/16 is Kevin Greenslade, with the most votes from the public. Once again the winner is from the speed category, three times in the last 4 years. A well deserved result for him on the back of his results in speed sailing not just this year but for holding the UKWA speed trophy for an incredible 5 years.

Kevin Greenslade in Weymouth Harbour.

Quote from the man himself

“I am absolutely blown away to have received the news today that I have been voted the UKWA Windsurfer of the Year. I would like to congratulate the other nominees in their achievements during 2015 and am sure they will all go onto bigger better achievements in 2016. Thanks to my Sponsors Gaastra/Tabou, F-hot fins and OTC for making it possible for me to compete from year to year. I would also like to thank my family, friends and Girlfriend for all the support through the year. A massive thanks and a Happy New Year to everyone who voted. I look forward to seeing everyone on the water in 2016."

Bob Ingram Chairman of the UKWA said

“Well done to all the Nominees who are all champions in their own right, especially Kevin who deserves this award not only for holding the UKWA speed trophy for 5 years, he is also a great ambassador for windsurfing in general. Finally thank you to all the people who voted”.

TrophyWe will arrange for last years winner Ben Proffit to hand over the UKWA WOTY trophy very soon.